Text-size

When breath becomes air / Paul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese.

Cover image for When breath becomes air
ISBN#9780812988406
BIB ID#1934106
Call# B Kalanthi

When breath becomes air

3.88889

Reviews and Notes

Summary/Annotation ->  #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.

Praise for When Breath Becomes Air

"I guarantee that finishing this book and then forgetting about it is simply not an option. . . . Part of this book's tremendous impact comes from the obvious fact that its author was such a brilliant polymath. And part comes from the way he conveys what happened to him--passionately working and striving, deferring gratification, waiting to live, learning to die--so well. None of it is maudlin. Nothing is exaggerated. As he wrote to a friend: 'It's just tragic enough and just imaginable enough.' And just important enough to be unmissable." --Janet Maslin, The New York Times

"An emotional investment well worth making: a moving and thoughtful memoir of family, medicine and literature. It is, despite its grim undertone, accidentally inspiring." -- The Washington Post

"Possesses the gravity and wisdom of an ancient Greek tragedy . . . [Kalanithi] delivers his chronicle in austere, beautiful prose. The book brims with insightful reflections on mortality that are especially poignant coming from a trained physician familiar with what lies ahead." -- The Boston Globe

"Devastating and spectacular . . . [Kalanithi] is so likeable, so relatable, and so humble, that you become immersed in his world and forget where it's all heading." -- USA Today

"It's [Kalanithi's] unsentimental approach that makes When Breath Becomes Air so original--and so devastating. . . . Its only fault is that the book, like his life, ends much too early." -- Entertainment Weekly

"[ When Breath Becomes Air ] split my head open with its beauty." --Cheryl Strayed

Availability

Locationsort iconCall NumberItem TypeVolumeBarcodeStatus
ArverneB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579354074Requested for Loan
ArverneB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579354058Requested for Loan
AstoriaB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579445112On Hold
AuburndaleB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579196137Available
Bay TerraceB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579196293Available
BaysideB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579196335Due 7-2-2019
BelleroseB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579359016Due 6-28-2019
BelleroseB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579196301Available
BelleroseB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228596751609Available
BelleroseB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228578836642Due 6-25-2019
BookmobileB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228578632611Available
BriarwoodB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579196327Due 7-9-2019
BroadwayB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228616947500Due 6-27-2019
Central Adult FictionB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228581347843Available
Central Adult Non-Fic- Ask at DeskB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228577042499Due 7-1-2019
Central Adult Non-FictionB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228585514364Available
Central Adult Non-FictionB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228587526556In Transit
Central Adult Non-FictionB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228585514331In Transit
Central Adult Non-FictionB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579195816Available
Central Adult Non-FictionB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228581565675Available
Central Lib Current CollectionB KalanthiBestseller0228596494408Available
Central Lib Current CollectionB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579685402Available
CoronaB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579040269Available
Court SquareB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228590511785Due 7-5-2019
DouglastonB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228581337158Available
DouglastonB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228578997493Available
DouglastonB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228580839824Due 7-2-2019
DouglastonB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228578606367Available
DouglastonB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228578606375Available
DouglastonB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228581337166Due 7-5-2019
DouglastonB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228578606383Due 7-1-2019
East FlushingB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579196319Available
FlushingB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228581318430Due 6-24-2019
FlushingB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579196038Due 7-1-2019
FlushingB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228581335889Due 6-21-2019
Forest HillsB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228513275484Available
Forest HillsB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228513290574Available
Fresh MeadowsB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228612960598In Transit Requested
Fresh MeadowsB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228577564963Available
Glen OaksB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579002509Available
Glen OaksB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579195980Due 7-8-2019
GlendaleB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579195964Available
HillcrestB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228563693826Due 6-22-2019
Howard BeachB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579196020Due 7-1-2019
Jackson HeightsB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228587386274Due 7-10-2019
Jackson HeightsB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228587047488Due 6-22-2019
Kew Gardens HillsB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228609513830Available
Kew Gardens HillsB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228596494440Due 7-10-2019
Kew Gardens HillsB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228617030660Available
Kew Gardens HillsB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579196186Due 8-5-2019
LeffertsB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228596188687Available
Lefrak CityB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228580834114Due 6-30-2019
Long Island CityB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228596524162Due 6-26-2019
MaspethB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579195998Available
McGoldrickB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579196012Available
Middle VillageB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579196004Due 10-30-2017
Mitchell-LindenB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228546618312Available
Mitchell-LindenB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579195972Available
North Forest ParkB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579598746Available
North Forest ParkB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579196145Available
North Forest ParkB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228587412492Available
North HillsB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579196152Due 7-8-2019
North HillsB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228590432404Available
PeninsulaB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579195824Available
PoppenhusenB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579195832Due 7-10-2019
Queens VillageB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228427593899Due 7-26-2019
Queens VillageB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579195899Available
Queens Village MABB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228587366664Available
Queens Village MABB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228587366672Available
Queensboro HillB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228587528974Available
Richmond HillB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228581561096Available
Richmond HillB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579195840Due 6-30-2019
RidgewoodB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228578913920Due 7-1-2019
SeasideB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579196178Available
SunnysideB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579330884In Transit Requested
WhitestoneB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228540772123Available
WhitestoneB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579195873Available
WhitestoneB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228540760177Available
Windsor ParkB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228515211859Available
Windsor ParkB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579524577Available
Windsor ParkB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228581332936Available
Windsor ParkB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228581332951Due 6-28-2019
Windsor ParkB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228515199120Available
WoodhavenB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228579195857Available
WoodsideB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228587857977Due 6-28-2019
WoodsideB KalanthiAdult Hard Cover0228591124380Due 6-29-2019

Marc Record

01486cam a22004338i 4500
001
vtls001934106
003
NJQ
005
20151124130600.0
008
151119s2016 nyu 000 0aeng
020
 
 
$a 9780812988406 $q hardcover $c $25.00
020
 
 
$a 081298840X
039
 
9
$a 201511241306 $b rshapiro $c 201511241304 $d rshapiro $y 201511190821 $z mzheng
040
 
 
$a DLC $b eng $e rda $c DLC $d YDXCP $d BTCTA $d BDX $d OCLCO
042
 
 
$a pcc
043
 
 
$a n-us---
049
 
 
$a ZQPM
050
 
 
$a RC280.L8 $b K35 2016
082
 
 
$a 616.99/424 $2 23
084
 
 
$a BIO026000 $a MED000000 $a SOC036000 $2 bisacsh
099
 
 
$a B Kalanthi
100
1
 
$a Kalanithi, Paul, $e author.
245
1
 
$a When breath becomes air / $c Paul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese.
250
 
 
$a First edition.
263
 
 
$a 1601
264
 
1
$a New York : $b Random House, $c 2016.
300
 
 
$a pages cm
336
 
 
$a text $2 rdacontent
337
 
 
$a unmediated $2 rdamedia
338
 
 
$a volume $2 rdacarrier
599
 
 
$a A Dec15-CP
600
1
 
$a Kalanithi, Paul $x Health.
650
 
 
$a Lungs $x Cancer $x Patients $z United States $v Biography.
650
 
 
$a Neurosurgeons $v Biography.
650
 
 
$a Husband and wife.
654
 
 
$2 BISAC $a BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs.
994
 
 
$a C0 $b ZQP
995
 
 
$a MZHENG/RSHAPIRO-CC:1115
999
 
 
$a VIRTUA
999
 
 
$a VTLSSORT0080 0400 0200 0201 0420 0430 0500 0820 0840 0990 0490 1000 2450 2500 2630 2640 3000 3360 3370 3380 5990 6000 6500 6501 6502 6540 9940 9950 9992

This book is beautifully written. It was almost poetic in its choice of language and style. Paul Kalanithi was an outstanding writer and a beautiful person who shared one of the most tragic parts of his life. It was sad yet uplifting. Life and many of the events in life are random and often unfair, and yet the search for personal meaning propels us to embrace every moment that we are given. I did not want this book to end. I would highly recommend it.